Moms Of Faith

~Holiday Weekend~

Posted on: July 7, 2008

I absolutely LOVE holiday weekends…that is until Monday morning when I wake up to an early morning doctor’s appointment for KG and a house that appears to have been turned upside down and shaken.  Sigh.  It’s after noon now and to be honest all I have managed to accomplish today has been the doctor’s appointment and some minor business call and some work on the computer.  KG is at my Aunt’s again to swim and KJ is in bed napping.  As this will be her only true nap for the day, I am taking advantage of it and get all the computing done now.

We managed to get the house inspected, kinda, have a yard sale, go to the play ground, teach Sunday School, visit with family, go grocery shopping, do a mystery shop, and we managed to find the time to sit down and watch two movies just me and hubby.  However, we did NOT find time to clean up.  I cannot even begin to discribe to you what our home looks like right now.  Oh my.  I would be embarrassed to allow anyone to come over with it looking the way it does.  My aunt will be bringing Kyla home later, so it will have to be picked up soon..and I have to walk up to the realtor’s office to day to give her the “Good Faith Deposit.”

We picked up a couple of new surge protectors to use in the new place.  We want to be able to just hit a couple of buttons and all of our electronics and appliance will shut down immediately.  We’re lazy and we just want to be able to do it as quickly and efficiently as possible. We have also purchased a water filtration system to put under the sink so we don’t have to keep using just our pitcher.  I know it sounds like a lot of purchases already, but everything we have bought was on clearance and will be money-saving in the long run.  I don’t think we have spent over $10 on anything…so I feel like we’re doing okay so far.  I know we also really needed those things to help us be more energy conscious.

At the yard sale on Saturday, it rained on us, it was overcast and gloomy all day, we didn’t have much traffic…but I still managed to make $75 and acquire some great items for the new house.  I got the cutest toilet paper shelf for FREE, a shelf for the utility room and a tea maker for $2.00, and a shelf for KJ’s room for FREE also!  Aside from the money and goodies, I had a great time hanging out with my dad, ex-stepmother, and aunt for 8 hours.  It was a lot of fun!  My aunt and I always manage to have a good time together…we’re a lot alike I think.  She has always been like a mother to me, since I was small…She is like a grandmother to my girls.  We’re goofy. All of us.  All of our combined left over “stuff” was taken directly to our local Goodwill and donated that day.

What did you all do this weekend?  Did you have a yard sale or a cookout?  Did you travel or stay close to home?

Leave a Reply

Need Help Living on a Small Budget?

Blog Stats

  • 7,607 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
