Moms Of Faith

Money Talk Monday

Posted on: January 12, 2009

I would like to take the opportunity on Monday mornings to discuss something that has been bothering me for sometime.  Why is that we, intelligent, motivated women have such a hard time realizing our financial dreams?  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think happiness relies solely on having money, but I do think it can make it easier. Now, I’m sure this will stir up quite a bit of discussion and I welcome that, if fact, I encourage it!

books_rich_smI have been reading Dr. Lois P. Frankel‘s Nice Girls Don’t Get Rich recently and this book has opened my eyes to some mistruths I have believed my entire life. Things I have been told since a young girl.This book doesn’t encourage women not to be “nice”, it simply encourages us to be WOMEN.  To think like  independent women and to do what is necessary to be financially independent.  She covers may things we have all heard before; budgeting, saving, retirement investing…the usual. But the book also takes a good look at WHY we think the way we do about money.

In the coming weeks I plan to take chapter at a time and discuss a summary of what it covers and try to see if we can put the sage advice of the many wonderful advisers that contributed to this book.  In the introduction, Dr. Frankel investigates why we think the way we do about money.  Many of us came from egalitarian households where we were told we can be anything we want to be and we are just as good as the boy sitting next to us in class, but still more women came from a household were they were told to “be a nice girl and don’t talk about money” or “men are just better with money”.  Well, this is it ladies. Leave all that you’ve been told behind you. We are starting fresh today! We are going to make a new way for ourselves today!  We CAN control our finances and we CAN be good wives, mothers, and WOMEN while controlling our financial future.  I don’t know about you, but I am READY!

Come back next Monday when we really get to the root of the problems and start talking about what WE can do to change it.  I hope you’ll journey along with me from being a “nice girl” to a financially fit WOMAN.  If you have time this week, check out Dr. Frankel and friend’s blog, The Thin Pink Line.

Feel free to let me know your opinion on financial security and what (if any) should be the role of the wife in a family’s finances.

Don’t miss anything in this series, sign up for a subscription to this blog or to have it delivered right to your email…the sign-up link is on the left.

Be sure to check out, Project Buzz Butter and the Featured Mom-business, DPK-Virtual Assistants at the top of the blog.

Leave a Reply

Need Help Living on a Small Budget?

Blog Stats

  • 7,607 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
